Sculptor Julia C Burr’s Work Installed at North Carolina Veterans Park in Fayetteville, NC

Julia C. Burr, a sculptor from Black Mountain, NC, is one of six artists, and the only woman, chosen for an outdoor public art commission installed this week at the new North Carolina Veterans Park in Fayetteville, NC. This is North Carolina’s first state park dedicated to military veterans from all five branches of the armed services.

Each sculptor was tasked with interpreting a “touchstone word” and in their 3-D translation of the word must incorporate military artifacts. Julia’s word is “honor.” Her 18-foot abstract steel piece is based on the strength and growth it takes to maintain a strong moral compass. “I am excited that I was given the word honor. It is a big word, an important word – for me personally and certainly important within the powerful environment of the military,” Burr said.

Burr pointed out that after almost 30 years of experience creating concepts and designs for commercial, residential and public venues all over the world, she still approaches each project as if it were the first. “The challenge of public art is to maintain creativity while staying within the criteria of the project. Experience gives me confidence that I will find a strong solution; however, I don’t want to get too comfortable. I want my voice to be clear, but I don’t want to sing too many variations of the same song over and over. The goal is to push my comfort zone while staying true to my aesthetics. All of which is easier said than done,” Burr said.

Last year Burr completed another public commission in Asheville’s Pack Square Park: a 45’ elliptical steel railing that surrounds the observation deck. The Veteran’s Park commission exemplifies the evolution of her 3-D voice.

“In the case of the Veteran’s Park I had the opportunity to explore movement and growth in a more abstract way than I have in the past,” she said.

Attendance by political and military dignitaries and remarks by Governor Beverly Perdue, takes place July 4, 2011.

For further information call Julia Burr at 828-669-0901 or e-mail to (Burgurl@aol.com).

Tags: , , , , , , ,